Rockstar Games • Grand Theft Auto • Australian Classification

2 minutes, 27 seconds Read


Rockstar Games, a renowned video game developer and publisher, is no stranger to controversy, and their iconic Grand Theft Auto series has often been at the center of discussions surrounding video game violence and mature content. In Australia, the classification and regulation of video games, including the Grand Theft Auto series, have been subjects of debate and scrutiny. This article delves into the Australian classification system for video games and the history of Grand Theft Auto’s interaction with it.

The Australian Classification System:

Australia has a well-defined classification system for video games, movies, and other forms of media content. The system is in place to ensure that the content is suitable for different age groups and adheres to specific guidelines. Games can be classified into the following categories:

  1. G (General Exhibition): Suitable for all audiences.
  2. PG (Parental Guidance): May contain material that children find confusing or upsetting. Parental guidance is recommended.
  3. M (Mature): Recommended for mature audiences. It may contain content that is recommended for 15 years and over.
  4. MA15+ (Mature Accompanied): Restricted to audiences aged 15 and over.
  5. R18+ (Restricted): Restricted to audiences aged 18 and over.
  6. RC (Refused Classification): Content that is deemed offensive or against public interest is refused classification and cannot be sold, demonstrated, or promoted.

The Grand Theft Auto Series in Australia:

The Grand Theft Auto (GTA) series is one of the most successful and controversial video game franchises in the world. Known for its open-world gameplay, satirical storytelling, and often mature content, GTA titles have often been met with scrutiny from various quarters, including Australian classification authorities.

Grand Theft Auto III, the game that significantly propelled the series into mainstream popularity, faced its share of controversies upon release. It was initially refused classification in Australia due to its violent and criminal content. However, after modifications were made, it received an “MA15+” classification.

The controversies surrounding Grand Theft Auto games continued with subsequent titles like Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, which initially had its classification revoked and later reclassified as “RC” due to the inclusion of hidden sexual content. This led to the famous “Hot Coffee” controversy, where hidden adult content was discovered in the game, sparking outrage and further discussion about video game regulation.

In response to these incidents, the Australian classification system has become more vigilant about video game content. Games are now assessed thoroughly before they are granted classification, and publishers must ensure their titles adhere to the content guidelines. This has led to a more transparent approach to video game classification in the country.


Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto series have played a significant role in shaping discussions around video game classification in Australia. The controversies surrounding these games have prompted both the industry and authorities to reevaluate their approach to content regulation. As the gaming landscape evolves, it is crucial to find a balance between artistic freedom and responsible classification, ensuring that games are both enjoyable and appropriate for their intended audiences.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *